Congratulations to the 2020 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Inductees …

Posted: February 25, 2020 in Uncategorized

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum is pleased to recognize driving legends Janet Guthrie and Dale Earnhardt as the newest inductees to the IMS Hall of Fame.

Guthrie is the first woman at IMS to be assigned a car on the entry list (1976) and the first female to qualify to race (1977). She held the record for best finish by a female driver (ninth) for 27 years from 1978 to 2005.

Earnhardt earned five top-10 finishes in seven starts at the Brickyard 400, including a win in 1995, and is tied for the most NASCAR Cup Series championships at seven. He was fatally injured at the 2001 Daytona 500 but his legacy endures.

Guthrie and Earnhardt will be honored at the 2020 IMS Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers Dinner presented by Firestone on Thursday, May 21, in downtown Indianapolis.

IMS Museum Borg-Warner Society members will be invited to attend the ceremony and dinner. 1909 Founders level members will receive an invitation. Pole Sitter members may claim two complimentary tickets. Winner’s Circle level supporters will each have one complimentary table for eight at the banquet.

For more information about the Borg-Warner Society, contact Jennifer Hiatt at 317-492-6563 or

Comments are closed.