Archive for April 24, 2018

Seven dates for the 31st annual edition of Indiana Sprint Week have been set for the 2018 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season.

The prestigious summertime tradition will have a familiar look with seven races in nine nights from July 20-28, 2018, featuring a slate of the top sprint car tracks in the Hoosier state.

Indiana Sprint Week will begin at a yet-to-be-determined venue on Friday, July 20 before following it up a night later at Kokomo Speedway on Saturday, July 21. The first weekend concludes Sunday, July 22 in the southeastern part of the state at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

After a two-day hiatus, the series returns for a final four-day stretch that begins at the Terre Haute Action Track on Wednesday, July 25. Then, it’s off to Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville on Thursday, July 26, Bloomington Speedway on Friday, July 27 and concludes with the ISW finale Saturday, July 28 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt.

The changing landscape on the racing calendar within the Midwest region opened new opportunities, instigating a change to a slightly later date in the month of July for Indiana Speed Week (ISW) to create a better balance for the series’ drivers and teams during a busy summer stretch.

“We know this is a change for the promoters, our teams and fans, but we feel the need to take advantage of the opportunity to keep growing the event as a whole,” USAC Series Director Levi Jones said. “We plan to carry the momentum we’ve built over the last couple of decades and make Indiana Sprint Week an even bigger success for everyone involved.”

The tracks on the ISW schedule each include its own characteristics, ranging from relatively flat to high banks, from quarters to half-miles and from wide-sweeping turns to paperclip-shaped venues, offering a unique challenge to both driver and machine.

Indiana Sprint Week debuted in 1988, first becoming USAC-sanctioned in 1996. Since then, the event has grown from 3 races to 7 and become the marquee event on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car trail drawing massive crowds, welcoming travelers from around the world, both driver and fan alike.

The USAC National Sprint Car division’s winningest driver, Dave Darland, owns the most Indiana Sprint Week victories with 18. Levi Jones and Kevin Thomas have the most ISW titles with four.


Friday, July 20: TBA – TBA

Saturday, July 21: Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Indiana

Sunday, July 22: Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, Indiana

Wednesday, July 25: Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, Indiana

Thursday, July 26: Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Indiana

Friday, July 27: Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, Indiana

Saturday, July 28: Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Indiana


The Indiana Racing Memorial Association will honor Tony Elliott with the placement of a Historical Marker on Friday, April 27, 2018 in Warsaw, Indiana.

The gathering will begin at 12pm (EDT) and run until approximately 2pm (EDT) at the Kosciusko County Fairgrounds Building at 1400 East Smith Street, Warsaw, IN 46580

The program will feature Indianapolis Motor Speedway Historian Donald Davidson and Hall of Fame racecar driver Tom Bigelow.

Tony Elliot - John Mahony Photo

Tony Elliot – John Mahoney Photo


Tony Elliott was the United States Auto Club (USAC) 1998 and 2000 National Sprint Car Champion, scoring 26 USAC Sprint Car feature victories during his career.

His five USAC Silver Crown wins included the Hoosier Hundred in Indianapolis in 2000 and 2001.

He earned 11 United States Auto Club (USAC) feature victories at Kokomo (eight Sprint, one National Midget and two Regional Midget).

The 1999 Indiana Sprint Week champion scored three of his five Indiana Sprint Week victories at the Kokomo oval.

Elliott perished October 2, 2015 in a plane crash in South Carolina.