RaceDay at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway …

Posted: May 28, 2016 in Uncategorized

Borg-Warner Trophy during the final Indy 500 practice on Miller Lite Carb Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway -- Photo by Chris Owens

INDIANAPOLIS, Saturday, May 28, 2016 – Information about the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on Sunday, May 29, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

— Please note, all activities Sunday are weather permitting —

SCHEDULE (All times local)

5am – Exterior parking lots open to the public
6am – Cannon signifies opening of track. All gates and inside IMS parking lots are open
6am – 12:20 p.m.: IMS Midway open
6am – Noon: Ticket office open

7am – Snake Pit gates open
7:30 – 8:40am – B.O.A.T. concert at Snake Pit
7:45am – Band begins playing outside museum west door

8-9:15 am – Parade of Bands
8-10am – Borg-Warner Trophy March to the Bricks. Begins at basement door of IMS Museum.
8:30-10am – Celebrity red carpet
8:45 – 10:10am – DJ Mustard concert at Snake Pit
9:34am – Purdue Band Leads Borg-Warner Trophy March to the Bricks
9:45am – 500 Festival princess lap
10:06am – “On The Banks of the Wabash” performed by Purdue University Band – Victory Circle
10:15-11:45am – Zeds Dead concert at Snake Pit
10:29am – Green Flag delivered to Turn 1 by IU Health helicopter

10:40am – Former Indy 500 Champion Laps – A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, Rick Mears, Bobby Unser, Johnny Rutherford, Emerson Fittipaldi, Arie Luyendyk, Dario Franchitti, Parnelli Jones, Mario Andretti, Tom Sneva, Danny Sullivan, Bobby Rahal, Al Unser Jr., Kenny Brack, Gil de Ferran, Buddy Rice, Sam Hornish

10:41am – All cars are placed on grid (pit lane is cleared for laps)

10:57am – Historic Race Car Laps: 1911 Marmon Wasp – Al Unser, 1912 National – Mark Dismore, 1914 Duesenberg – Tom Sneva, 1922 Duesenberg – Sarah Fisher, 1923 Miller – Hurley Haywood, 1928 Miller – Danny Sullivan, 1933 Ringling & Henning – Wally Dallenbach, 1935 Pirrung Special – Lyn St. James, 1939 Maserati – Gil de Ferran, 1946 Thorne Special – Tony George, 1947 Blue Crown Special – Stephan Gregoire, 1949 Blue Crown Special – Sam Hornish Jr, 1952 Agajanian Special – John Andretti, 1958 Demler Special – Paul Goldsmith, 1959 Watson – Simoniz Polish Special – Geoff Brabham, 1964 Sheraton Thompson Special – A.J. Foyt IV, 1965 Lotus – Dario Franchitti, 1965 Brawner Hawk – Mario Andretti, 1970 Johnny Lightning Special – Al Unser Jr., 1973 STP Special – Buddy Rice, 1974 McLaren – Vern Schuppan, 1980 Chaparral Special – Johnny Rutherford, 1981 Norton Special – Bobby Unser, 1986 March – Bobby Rahal, 1990 Lola – Arie Luyendyk, 1992 Penske PC21 – Emerson Fittipaldi, 1999 Dallara – Kenny Brack, 2000 G-Force – Darren Manning, 2002 Dallara – Davey Hamilton, 2011 Dallara – Brian Herta, 1969 Lola T152 – Karl Kainhofer, 1972 McLaren – David Donohue

11:07am – Military Silverado laps
11:35am – Driver introductions
11:43am – Pearl Harbor veteran salute
11:47am – “America the Beautiful” performed by military trio with Purdue Band
11:55am – Presentation of colors
11:56am – Invocation – Archbishop of Indianapolis
11:57am – Rifle Volley – Victory Podium
11:57am – “Taps”
11:57am – “God Bless America” – performed by Indianapolis Children’s Choir
Noon – “National Anthem” – performed by Darius Rucker
12:02 p.m.: Military Flyover

12:05pm – “Drivers to Your Cars” – Florence Henderson
12:12pm – “Back Home Again in Indiana” performed by Josh Kaufman and Indianapolis Children’s Choir

12:15pm – “Lady and Gentleman – Start Your Engines”

12:19pm – 100th Running of the Indy 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil – 200 Laps

12:25pm – Skrillex Concert at Snake Pit
2pm – Martin Garrix Concert at Snake Pit
Post-Race – Victory Circle Ceremony


STANDS GA: All mounds open

ALL STANDS RESERVED: Stands open to reserved seat ticket holders only. No general admission access in the stands.

DAILY PARKING (OPENS 5 a.m.): All IMS external and inside lots are sold out. Must have prepaid parking pass to use IMS parking.

MUSEUM HOURS: 6 a.m.-6 p.m. Admission for race ticket holders is $10 for adults and $5 for fans 6-15 years old, with children under 5 free.


Tickets now on sale for the Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational, Lilly Diabetes 250, the Crown Royal 400 at the Brickyard and the Red Bull Air Race. Fans have 3 quick methods to buy tickets:

Online: Visit www.ims.com/tickets. Tickets are available 24 hours per day, seven days per week.

Phone: Call 800-822-INDY or 317-492-6700 between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday through Friday.

In Person: Visit the IMS Ticket Office at the IMS Administration Building east of the 16th Street roundabout and outside Turn 1 of the oval between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday through Friday.

Tickets for groups of 20 or more also are available. Contact the IMS Group Sales Department at 866-221-8775 for more information.

Information on parking and camping at IMS events is available at www.ims.com/tickets.

Comments are closed.