Conor Daly to Drive for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport in the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500 …

Posted: April 25, 2015 in Uncategorized


Indianapolis, IN – April 25, 2015 – Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (SPM) announced today that American driver Conor Daly will be driving the No. 43 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda as the the team’s third entry for the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race on Sunday, May 24.

Daly, a 23-year-old, Noblesville, Indiana native, will drive the No. 43 Honda-powered Dallara for his second start in the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

“I am ecstatic to partner with Schmidt Peterson Motorsport for the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500. I have had a great relationship with Sam Schmidt since driving for him in Indy Lights and I have always wanted a shot with his Verizon IndyCar Series team. It’s an honor to make my second attempt at running the Indy 500.

“I can’t thank everyone enough who have put in the hours to pull this program together. I am confident we will all benefit from this relationship going forward and I can’t wait to get to work on track!”

“Conor raced for our team in Indy Lights in 2011 for a partial season before heading off to Europe (to contest the GP3 Series), so we know what he is capable of. He deserves to be competing in the IndyCar Series full time and we’re honored to be providing this opportunity,” team co-owner Sam Schmidt said. “We’ve been working all winter on the Indy 500.”

Sponsorship and livery for Daly’s No. 43 entry will be unveiled in the upcoming weeks. Practice for the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 begins on Monday, May 11.


— ABOUT CONOR: In 2014, Daly competed in the GP2 Championship. In 2013, he competed in the GP3 Championship where he finished 3rd. He also drove for AJ Foyt Racing as a rookie in the Indianapolis 500 finishing 22nd.

— ABOUT SCHMIDT PETERSON MOTORSPORTS: Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (SPM) was established in 2001 and is owned by former IndyCar driver Sam Schmidt and Canadian businessman Ric Peterson. SPM fields cars in both the Verizon IndyCar Series and the Indy Lights Series presented by Cooper Tires. SPM is the most successful team in Indy Lights Series history with 65 wins and seven championships. In addition, SPM won the coveted Indy 500 pole position in 2011, and has won five Verizon IndyCar Series races between 2013 and 2015.

Comments are closed.