Archive for March 10, 2015


BROWNSBURG, Indiana (March 10, 2015) – Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) announced today that D-A Lubri­cant Co., a privately owned heavy duty, and indus­trial lubri­cant compounder/blender, will be the primary sponsor of the No. 15 Indy car driven by Graham Rahal at the Inau­gural Indy Grand Prix of Louisiana April 10 – 12 at NOLA Motor­sports Park.  In addi­tion, D-A Lubri­cant Co. has joined the team as a multi-year, major asso­ciate sponsor of the entry.

This part­ner­ship marks a return to Indy car racing for D-A Lubri­cant Co., based in Lebanon,IN, who spon­sored entries in the Indi­anapolis 500 from 1955 — 1958 with a highest finish of sixth in “The Greatest Spec­tacle in Racing” in 1956 with driver Bob Sweikert. D-A-sponsored cars also ran in the USAC Cham­pi­onship Car series during that time period, earning one win in 1957 and four wins in 1958.

11052396_994244870599617_2097243942246319118_n (1)

In addi­tion, the rela­tion­ship provides a business-to-business oppor­tu­nity with the LANCOGroup of Compa­nies, whose pres­i­dent is RLL co-owner Michael Lanigan. D-A Lubri­cant Co. will provide addi­tional tech­nical support to the team in ‘devel­op­ment’ of perfor­mance lubri­cants that will be used on the race car.

I am happy to welcome D-A Lubri­cant Co. to the team,” said Michael Lanigan, co-owner of RLL with 1986 Indy 500 winner and three-time Indy car cham­pion Bobby Rahal and CBS Late Show host David Letterman. “I also look forward to using their prod­ucts in all of our heavy equip­ment and to promote their vast selec­tion of oils, lubri­cants and other prod­ucts in the indus­tries the LANCO Group of Compa­nies are involved in.”

11052396_994244870599617_2097243942246319118_nI am incred­ibly pleased to bring D-A Lubri­cant Co. back to IndyCar and the Indi­anapolis Motor Speedway after a 50-year absence through our part­ner­ship with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing,” added Mike Protogere, Chairman/CEO of D-A Lubri­cant Co. “This is a prime example of a busi­ness to busi­ness rela­tion­ship that will allow us to imme­di­ately iden­tify and open new busi­ness chan­nels, and get our name in front of IndyCar audi­ences in markets throughout North America. RLL is comprised of talented indi­vid­uals, and I can’t wait to see them perform this season carrying the D-A Lubri­cant Co. name.”

We are obvi­ously thrilled to welcome D-A Lubri­cant Co. into our team,” said RLL co-owner Bobby Rahal. “Those who are familiar with the history of Indy car racing know that D-A’s involve­ment goes back to the 1950’s. I certainly remember their car with its distinc­tive livery so it’s wonderful to be able to welcome them back to Indy car racing. In meeting with them, I was so impressed with how they go about their busi­ness. Their exper­tise in the lubri­cants area will help us get a tech­nical advan­tage and we look forward to working closely with them during this process. We’re excited to have them on board.”

The 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season begins on March 29 with the Fire­stone Grand Prix of St. Peters­burg and will be tele­vised live on ABC at 3:00 p.m. ET.

About D-A Lubri­cant Co.

D-A Lubri­cant Co., is a privately owned heavy duty, and indus­trial lubri­cant compounder/blender. The company offers a broad line of prod­ucts and services to U.S. and inter­na­tional end-users, select distrib­u­tors and Orig­inal Equip­ment Manu­fac­turing (OEM). D-A also provides tech­nical assis­tance, propri­etary tribology formu­la­tion and fluid testing capa­bil­i­ties. D-A Lubri­cant Co. was founded in 1919 and has its world head­quar­ters in Lebanon, Indiana with addi­tional distri­b­u­tion strate­gi­cally located throughout the conti­nental United States as well as an inter­na­tional presence.

More infor­ma­tion about D-A Lubri­cant Co. can be found at 

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Browns­burg, Ind., is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Cham­pion and 1986 Indi­anapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, CBS LATESHOW host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. In 2015 the team will compete in their 24th year of open wheel compe­ti­tion and attempt to add to their 20 wins – including the 2004 Indy 500 from pole with Buddy Rice — their 29 poles, 81 podium finishes and 1992 series cham­pi­onship. The team also competed in the Amer­ican Le Mans Series from 2009 – 2013 as BMW Team RLL where they won both the Manu­fac­turer and Team Cham­pi­onships in the GT cate­gory in 2010 and swept all three GT titles in 2011 — Manu­fac­turer, Team and Driver. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Cham­pi­onship and third in the Manu­fac­turer Cham­pi­onship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team and Manu­fac­turer Cham­pi­onship. In 2014, BMW Team RLL competed in the GTLM class of the TUDOR United SportsCar Cham­pi­onship with a two-car program and earned six podium finishes including four second-place finishes. In 2015, the team opened the season by scoring their 50th podium finish of second place at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and will attempt to add to their 10 wins.

Data and Images provided by RLL