Archive for May 19, 2013


By: Wm. R. LaDow

As reported for the Post-Tribune – A Chicago Sun-Times Media Company

The field is now set for the 97th Running of the Indianapolis 500 … 

Thirty-three starters will take the green flag for 200 breathtaking laps on the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 26th at 12 noon. Television coverage by ABC (American Broadcasting Company) will begin at 11am (ET).

Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti will be seeking their fourth victories in the race, which would put them in the elite company of A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser. 

The front row, that averaged just under 228.500 miles per hour is comprised of Pole sitter (and Hoosier favorite son); Ed Carpenter and two Andretti Autosport teammates; Rookie Carlos Munoz and Marco Andretti, son and grandson of American racing legends Michael and Mario Andretti.

The field also includes two other previous winners of the 500, Scott Dixon and Buddy Lazier, along with four female drivers; Simona De Silvestro, Ana Beatriz, Pippa Mann, and Katherine Legge.

Last year’s Indianapolis 500 had 34 lead changes recorded at the start/finish, with many more occurring around the storied speedway. The 33 car field is separated by a mere four seconds, with the slowest car in the field qualifying at over 223 miles per hour.

Once again Speedway, Indiana and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway will host  the single-day largest sporting event on earth.

Inside Middle Outside
Ed Carpenter
Carlos Munoz (R)
Marco Andretti
20 26 25
Avg. Speed
228.762 MPH
Avg. Speed
228.342 MPH
Avg. Speed
228.261 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
EJ Viso
AJ Allmendinger (R)
Will Power
5 2 12
Avg. Speed
228.150 MPH
Avg. Speed
228.099 MPH
Avg. Speed
228.087 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Helio Castroneves
James Hinchcliffe
1 DHL 3  27
Avg. Speed
227.904 MPH
Avg. Speed
227.762 MPH
Avg. Speed
227.070 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
JR Hildebrand
Alex Tagliani
Tony Kanaan
 4 98  11
Avg. Speed
227.441 MPH
Avg. Speed
227.386 MPH
Avg. Speed
226.949 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Oriol Servia
Justin Wilson
Sebastien Bourdais
22  19 7
Avg. Speed
226.814 MPH
Avg. Speed
226.370 MPH
Avg. Speed
226.196 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Scott Dixon
Dario Franchitti
Takuma Sato
 9 10 14
Avg. Speed
226.158 MPH
Avg. Speed
226.069 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.892 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Charlie Kimball
James Jakes
Simon Pagenaud
 83 16  77
Avg. Speed
225.880 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.809 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.674 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Townsend Bell
Ryan Briscoe
Simona De Silvestro
 60 8  78
Avg. Speed
225.643 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.265 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.226 MPH
Inside Middle Outside
Josef Newgarden
Graham Rahal
Sebastian Saavedra
 21 15  6
 Avg. Speed
226.731 MPH
Avg. Speed
225.007 MPH
Avg. Speed
224.929 MPH
ROW 10
Inside Middle Outside
Tristian Vautier (R)
Ana Beatriz
Pippa Mann
 55  18 63
Avg. Speed
224.873 MPH
Avg. Speed
224.184 MPH
Avg. Speed
224.005 MPH
ROW 11
Inside Middle Outside
Conor Daly (R)
Buddy Lazier
Katherine Legge
 41  Generic 91 81
Avg. Speed
223.582 MPH
Avg. Speed
223.442 MPH
 Avg. Speed
223.176 MPH


By: Dave Lewandowski


May 19, 2013

The entries for Dario Franchitti, Charlie Kimball, Josef Newgarden and Graham Rahal will incur 10-grid spot penalties for the first race of the Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans on June 1 because of unapproved engine changes at Indianapolis.

IZOD IndyCar Series entrants are allowed to switch out their Chevrolet or Honda 2.2-liter, turbocharged V6 engines once they meet the 2,000-mile threshold or by INDYCAR approval for repair.

Click it:  Engine update

Honda engines in Franchitti’s No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing and Kimball’s No. 83 Novo FlexPen were swapped out before Pole Day qualifications. The Honda engines in the No. 15 Midas/Big O Tires car for Rahal and the No. 21 Century 21 car for Newgarden were changed out to their Indianapolis 500 Race engines for their qualifying attempts on Old National Armed Forces Bump Day on May 19.

Qualifications May 31 for the first race of the IZOD IndyCar Series’ inaugural race weekend doubleheader will follow the three-round format for street/road course events, including the Firestone Fast Six to determine the Verizon P1 Award. Get tickets to the events May 31-June 2 — HERE.

Full-season entrants may use no more than five fresh-built engines from the first Open Test in mid-March at Barber Motorsports Park until the end of the race season Oct. 19 at Auto Club Speedway. For each fresh engine installed during this time, a grid spot penalty will be issued. Full-season entrants are allotted 10,000 miles of running per calendar year.

The fresh engine fitted for the Indianapolis 500 shall count as one of the five allotted to full-season entrants, which have the option to use up the mileage in that engine for subsequent races or refit the previous engine for the balance of its mileage and then use the Indianapolis 500-fitted engine.


Indianapolis Motor SpeedwaySaturday May 18, 2013Walt Kuhn 

Photos Courtesy of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway