The “Dean” Passes …. Chris Economaki 1920-2012

Posted: September 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

I was fortunate to call this man my friend. I will always cherish the time sitting in his office at the National Speed Sport News in Concord, North Carolina and listening to him tell me his thoughts about Pat O’Connor, Ray Nichels, Ronney Householder and other greats from the world of auto racing. On one visit to his offices he told me to get in his car and proceeded to drive me next door to the Charlotte Motor Speedway and where we spent the afternoon there with Chris as my guide. Every time we crossed paths, he treated me as if we had known each other for 100 years, though it had only been a bit less than 15. Chris’s kindness to me is one of the reasons I was able to begin a motorsports writing career late in my own life, that has sent me on some amazing adventures and introduced me to some amazing people. He was in fact the “Dean” … Thanks old friend. Rest in peace.

Full story here …

Comments are closed.